Moonalice Announces New Album ‘Light Side of the Moonalice’


Bay Area collective Moonalice will release their third studio album, Light Side of the Moonalice – An Acoustic Adventure, on February 24 via Nettwerk. Recorded in August 2022 with 4x-Grammy Award-winning engineer Dave Way (Fiona Apple, Pink, Norah Jones), the project sees Moonalice rework staples from their recent pair of EPs Full Moonalice Vol. 1 and Full Moonalice Vol. 2, including “Time Has Come Today” and “Love Peace & Happiness.” Arriving today is the brand new single “Arms Reach Out.”

Stream “Arms Reach Out”:

“Arms Reach Out” marks the first collaboration between Moonalice and Nashville-based hit songwriter Dylan Altman (Tim McGraw, Jake Owen). The song spotlights the band’s invigorating arrangements and humble storytelling, with lyrics that speak to the power of community and nature. Upbeat Americana instrumentation and uplifting folk-rock vocal callouts encourage us to let our “arms reach out” while our “roots grow down.”

Trust and opening up was fundamental to the songwriting process: “Three of us (Chloe Tietjen, Erika Tietjen, and Dylan Altman) took what started as a seed of a song and worked together to flesh it out, adding verses and a bridge and really having fun playing with the breakdown,” the band shares. “We easily found a great flow and are looking forward to writing more songs together in the future.”

While primarily known for its electric psychedelic soul sound, Moonalice has a long history of acoustic performances. Light Side of the Moonalice was inspired by a video the band recorded for Acoustic Guitar magazine that featured live versions of “Nick of Time” and “Woo Woo.” New studio recordings of both songs are included on this album.

“All of us in Moonalice are all folkies at heart,” states Roger McNamee. “We write our songs on acoustic instruments and it was fantastic to record them that way. The early feedback from fans has been gratifying. We may have to book some acoustic concert dates!”

This spring, Moonalice resumes their live shows, kicking things off with the annual hometown 4/20 celebration at San Francisco’s The Chapel. The group is also confirmed to make their triumphant returns to Napa Valley’s BottleRock Festival and Skull & Roses Festival in Ventura, CA.

Moonalice recently partnered with One Tree Planted, a nonprofit organization focused on global reforestation. Since 2014, the organization has planted over 40 million trees in more than 47 countries across the globe. For every fan that follows Moonalice on Spotify, One Tree Planted will plant one tree.

Follow Moonalice on Spotify:

Light Side of the Moonalice – An Acoustic Adventure Tracklist
1) Love Peace & Happiness
2) Arms Reach Out
3) More & More
4) Nick of Time
5) Time Has Come Today
6) Woo Woo
7) People Get Ready
8) California Dreamin…

4/20 San Francisco, CA 420 Gathering of the Tribe @ The Chapel
4/23 Ventura, CA Skull & Roses Festival
5/26 Napa Valley, CA BottleRock Festival