Johnny Cash’s 1968 Live Show At The Carousel Ballroom To Be Released As A Box Set On 1/14


Johnny Cash’s historic and just-released ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ live album will be made available as part of a limited-edition Cash box set next month, featuring the 28-song performance on all-analog double vinyl alongside exclusive artwork, special LP design and rare collectibles from the era. Arriving on January 14, the box set release will offer a comprehensive multimedia look at this recently unearthed Johnny Cash live performance; captured in the heart of hippie San Francisco by counterculture icon and “Wall Of Sound” pioneer Owsley “Bear” Stanley. Recorded in April 1968, only a few days before the release of At Folsom Prison and just months before the arrival of the equally-revered At San Quentin, ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ serves as a third essential – and wholly unique – live document from Cash’s legend-making late 60s comeback. Released by BMG and the Owsley Stanley Foundation, the limited-edition box set for Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 will include:

* The 28-song collection released on exclusive psychedelic colored vinyl

* A retro re-print of the “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash” comic book

* Reproduction of the original 1968 concert poster from Steve Catron in his legendary signature style

* 12-page booklet with new essays giving context to the release from Bob Weir, John Carter Cash, Dave Schools and more.

* New original artwork by 3-time Grammy-winner Susan Archie

* Audiophile, all-analog production newly mastered from the vault tapes by Owsley’s hand-picked engineer Paul Stubblebine

Pre-order the limited-edition box set for ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ (out January 14), and purchase the album on all formats, including as a 2 LP set, here:

Read about the creation of the album via The New Yorker, including interviews with the Owsley Stanley Foundation’s Hawk Semins, Peter Bell and Starfinder Stanley:

“A revelation…Bear Stanley enhances the intimacy of the concert experience in a most unusual and highly impactful fashion.” – Salon

“Stanley gives it a character unique from Folsom and San Quentin…the album creates a sensation of the listener being placed at center stage.” – Rolling Stone

“A doozy of a show…it sounds spectacular…the music envelops you.” – Garden & Gun


1. Cocaine Blues
2. Long Black Veil
3. Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
4. Going to Memphis
5. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
6. Rock Island Line
7. Guess Things Happen That Way
8. One Too Many Mornings
9. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
10. Give My Love to Rose
11. Green, Green Grass of Home
12. Old Apache Squaw
13. Lorena
14. Forty Shades of Green
15. Bad News
16. Jackson
17. Tall Lover Man
18. June’s Song Introduction
19. Wildwood Flower
20. Foggy Mountain Top
21. This Land Is Your Land
22. Wabash Cannonball
23. Worried Man Blues
24. Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
25. Ring of Fire
26. Big River
27. Don’t Take Your Guns to Town
28. I Walk the Line