Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon unveil first tour together in 16 years


Acoustic guitar pioneer Leo Kottke and Phish bassist Mike Gordon have announced plans for an eagerly awaited series of live dates. The brief tour – which marks the duo’s first live run together in more than 16 years – begins December 8 at Munhall, PA’s Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall and continues through late December. Ticket pre-sales begin today at select venues; general on-sales for all dates get underway this Friday, October 8.


8 – Munhall, PA – Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall
9 – Washington, DC – Sixth & I
10 – Tarrytown, NY – Tarrytown Music Hall
12 – Beverly, MA – The Cabot
13 – Lebanon, NH – Lebanon Opera House *
15 – Troy, NY – Troy Savings Bank Music Hall
16 – Norwalk, CT – Wall Street Theater
17 – York, PA – Appell Center for the Performing Arts
19 – Plattsburgh, NY – Strand Center for the Arts

All Dates On Sale Friday, October 8 @ 10 am ET
Except * On Sale Friday, October 8 @ 12 pm ET

(Covid-19 protocols such as proof of full vaccination or negative test will be required.
Please see venue website for exact details as protocols may vary from show to show.)

The upcoming tour celebrates last year’s release of the first new Kottke/Gordon album in 15 years, NOON, hailed by Rolling Stone as “full of lilting grooves that go on wild musical tangents.” NOON is available via ATO records on CD, Digital Download, and Limited Edition Red/Gold Split Colored Vinyl HERE.

A 4-song mini set premieres today on YouTube, including performances of the Kottke-penned “Sheets” and Gordon’s song “How Many People Are You” both from NOON, the latter of which features Phish drummer Jon Fishman. The set is rounded out with the Kottke classic “Rings”, which was released with Gordon on 2005’s SIXTY SIX STEPS, and “Disco”, from the duo’s 2002 release, CLONE.

Intricate, warmly askew, and indelibly dexterous, NOON showcased 11 new tracks, several of which were performed on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert and NPR’s Tiny Desk. The album – which marks Kottke’s first studio record since his previous collaboration with Gordon, 2005’s SIXTY SIX STEPS – was recorded in New Orleans and Vermont, with music exchanged between the two artists by file, tape-sealed boombox, sheet music, and face-to-face. Working with longtime Gordon collaborator, producer/engineer Jared Slomoff, Kottke and Gordon crafted a singular collection of improvisational mood music, including a stripped-back version of Gordon’s classic “Peel” and Kottke’s stark rethinking of the Byrds’ “Eight Miles High.” NOON further includes a bopping cover of Prince’s “Alphabet St.” featuring Phish drummer Jon Fishman, who also joins Kottke and Gordon on four additional tracks. In addition, the LP includes nearly ambient appearances by pedal steel player Brett Lanier (The Barr Brothers) and cellist Zoë Keating (Imogen Heap, Amanda Palmer, Tears For Fears).