Kool & the Gang’s new album, ‘Perfect Union,’ due out on August 21st.


The iconic funk band Kool & the Gang will release their new album, Perfect Union, August 20, 2021 on Omnivore Recordings through its Ru-Jac Records imprint — the first new recording on the historic R&B label.

The two-time Grammy® Award-winning group’s new project was produced by the late Ronald Khalis Bell, Kool’s brother, who passed away in 2020. The album, a CD / Digital release, contains ten tracks including the new single, the rap version of “Pursuit of Happiness,” and “Sexy (Where’d You Get Yours),” which hit #16 on the Adult R&B charts. The band is currently embarking on a worldwide tour.

Perfect Union is Kool & the Gang’s first album since 2011 and their first with Omnivore. Their legendary long run in the music industry has produced iconic songs such as “Celebration,” “Ladies Night,” “Get Down On it,” “Jungle Boogie,” “Summer Madness,” and “Open Sesame,” which have earned them two Grammy® Awards, seven American Music Awards, 25 Top Ten R&B hits, nine Top Ten Pop hits and 31 gold and platinum albums.

Kool expounds upon the background of the album: “My brother, Khalis, wrote the single ‘Pursuit of Happiness’ around the time of Obama’s second campaign for President. That was such an inspirational time and the hook and music just bolted out of him. That time period was a pretty creative period for him and all of us. Now that he has passed, that name, Perfect Union makes even more sense to me. It’s about us. He used to say we were the koolective genius of a band called Kool & the Gang. We came together as kids and it’s been a perfect union. He knew that.”

Track listing:
1. Pursuit Of Happiness
2. The Weekend
3. Leave It On The Dance Floor
4. High
5. Sexy (Where’d You Get Yours)
6. All To Myself
7. R.O.Y.A.L.T.Y. (Kool & The Gang Mix)
8. Hold On
9. Good Time
10. Pursuit Of Happiness (Rap Version)

Pre-order link: www.omnivorerecordings.com/shop/perfect-union