Leftover Salmon Release New Single “Flyin’ at Night”


Leftover Salmon will release BRAND NEW GOOD OLD DAYS next week, heralding their return to Compass Records. The band, which is widely regarded as one of the architects of the jam band scene, has been brewing its own potent blend of bluegrass, rock ‘n’ roll, folk, Cajun, soul, zydeco, jazz and blues for over 30 years and continues to be one of the most popular acts on the festival scene. Syndicated radio show Folk Alley premiered co-founder Drew Emmitt’s song “Flyin’ at Night” this week; the track is also available to stream on all digital service providers HERE.

Folk Alley writes: “Leftover Salmon’s ‘Flyin’ at Night’ rolls up the runway with glances off the snare, gaining speed with jaunty piano rolls, taking off and ascending into the stratosphere as striding banjo rolls weave around bopping organ strains … the song conveys the exhilaration, the wonder, the newness-in-the oldness, the freedom of flying and life on the road.”

Members of Leftover Salmon currently include Vince Herman (vocals, guitar, washboard), Emmitt (vocals, mandolin, fiddle, electric guitar), Greg Garrison (bass, vocals), who also produced the new album, Andy Thorn (banjo electric banjo, vocals) and Alwyn Robinson (drums, vocals), all who contribute songs to the album. This line-up’s diversity and range contribute to the continuing evolution of the band.

Known for their exhilarating live shows and musicianship as well as their eclectic musical tastes, Leftover Salmon has been one of Colorado’s most beloved musical exports, picking up where bands like Little Feat, the Band and The Grateful Dead left off and distilling it into their own potent brew of bluegrass, rock ‘n’ roll, folk, Cajun, soul, zydeco and jazz and blues.

Leftover Salmon’s new album BRAND NEW GOOD OLD DAYS will street on May 7 on Nashville indie label Compass Records. Having collaborated with everyone from the cream of American roots artists (1999’s groundbreaking NASHVILLE SESSIONS) and indie oddballs Cracker, to more recent albums produced by Los Lobos’ Steve Berlin, the group has endured the death of a founding member and line-up changes yet managed to stay true to their fans and their sound.


1. Black Hole Sun
2. Brand New Good Old Days
3. Category Stomp
4. Flyin’ at Night
5. Left Unsung
6. Boogie Grass Band
7. Red Fox Run
8. Sunday
9. Waterfront
10. We’ll Get By