Gov’t Mule Releases Live Album ‘Live At The Cotton Club’ On Evil Teen Records


Gov’t Mule has released a new live album, Live At The Cotton Club / Atlanta / February 20, 1997, the third release in their streaming-only series via Evil Teen Records – PRESS HERE to listen. The brand-new live release features Gov’t Mule’s original line-up and was recorded in Georgia where the band was formed by front man Warren Haynes and bassist Allen Woody, as a side project of The Allman Brothers Band when they were off tour, and drummer Matt Abts. The fun side project filled the void of experimental rock power acts and have since gone on to showcase their virtuosity, intelligence, and breadth over the course of their decades-long career as one of the most timeless and active bands in the world. Live At The Cotton Club features a mix of songs from Gov’t Mule’s 1997 self-titled debut album and 1998 sophomore album, Dose, as well as covers of songs originally by Sonny Boy Williamson, Memphis Slim, Tom Waits, and more.

“I seem to remember it being a hot sweaty night even though it was February, and you can feel it in the recordings. The band was definitely in experimental mode — going down some new roads and taking a lot of chances,” shares Haynes. “It’s great hearing this show again after all this time — especially re-mixed and re-mastered. The music sounds as fresh as it felt when we played it.”

Live At The Cotton Club marks the third of several digital-only live album releases – and the first featuring the original trio line-up of Haynes, Abts, and Woody – Gov’t Mule is sharing as they bring their jam-packed performances and master musicianship directly into fans’ homes. In recent months, Gov’t Mule delivered Live At The Angel Orensanz Center (PRESS HERE to listen/stream), which was recorded during the second of back-to-back shows as part of their New Year’s run in 2008 and features over two hours of remixed and re-mastered music from the show including an eclectic set of acoustic and electric favorites and rarities. Additionally, the band issued Live At The Beacon Theatre, recorded on New Year’s Eve 2017 when the band rang in the new year with special guest Jackie Greene as part of their annual New York City residency, performing a selection of the band’s classics as well as an array of covers. (PRESS HERE to listen/stream). Please visit for more information.

In other news, Gov’t Mule will return to the stage this spring for two sold out shows on April 30th and May 1st at Westville Music Bowl in New Haven, CT, marking the band’s first performances in the U.S. since their annual New Year’s Eve run in 2019 which featured two back-to-back nights at The Beacon Theatre in New York City.

Gov’t Mule Live At The Cotton Club / Atlanta / February 20, 1997 Track Listing:

(Set 1)
1. John The Revelator
2. Mule
3. Game Face
4. Temporary Saint
5. No Need To Suffer
6. Birth Of The Mule
7. Dolphineus
8. Painted Silver Light
9. Thelonius Beck
10. St. Stephen Jam (Grateful Dead cover)
11. I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan cover)
12. Blind Man In The Dark
13. Drums
14. Blind Man In The Dark (Reprise)
15. Young Man Blues (Mose Allison cover)
16. Good Morning Little School Girl (Sonny Boy Williamson cover)
17. Young Man Blues (Reprise) (Mose Allison cover)

(Set 2)
18. Monkey Hill
19. I Want You (She’s So Heavy) Jam (Beatles cover)
20. Mr. Big (Free cover)
21. Left Coast Groovies
22. Mother Earth (Memphis Slim cover)
23. Goin’ Out West (Tom Waits cover)
24. Gonna Send You Back To Georgia (Hound Dog Taylor cover)
25. I Can’t Hold Out (Elmore James cover)
26. Gonna Send You Back To Georgia (Reprise) (Hound Dog Taylor cover)

27. Just Got Paid (ZZ Top cover)
28. I’ve Been Working (Van Morrison cover)
29. Just Got Paid (Reprise) (ZZ Top cover)