Keb’ Mo’ Wins GRAMMY® for Best Americana Album for Oklahoma


The now five-time GRAMMY® Award-Winner, Keb’ Mo’, has earned another statue for his mantel for Best Americana Album, awarded for his critically acclaimed album Oklahoma released via Concord Records on June 14, 2019.

Critics predicted another prestigious award for the music industry veteran with Glide Magazine preaching, “Don’t be surprised if another GRAMMY® awaits,” and Elmore stating, “We could well be looking at his twelfth GRAMMY® nomination if not yet another award.”

In his quarter-century as a recording artist, the charismatic singer/guitarist/songwriter and five-time GRAMMY® Award winner has consistently made music that reflects his own passions and interests. In the process, he’s earned a reputation for his ability to draw upon his bottomless roots-music expertise to make deeply expressive, highly personal music.

“I’m more interested in making records that make me feel proud and make me feel like I’ve done my best. And if other people like it, that’s gravy,” Keb’ Mo’ stated before the release of Oklahoma, on June 14, 2019, via Concord Records. With noted musical veteran Colin Linden (The Band, Bruce Cockburn) heading up production duties, the album’s ten tracks encompass Keb’ Mo’s diverse talents, with the artist delivering some of the most adventurous and personal work of his career.

“I got to a place where I understood the anatomy of how lyrics can work, and how I can use them to put some substance into the song,” Keb’ says of his writing style for Oklahoma, “It’s like jelly donuts. I don’t even like jelly donuts, but you know that every time you bite into one, there’s gonna be something inside. At some point, I realized that you have to tell a story in some way, shape or form, and this record is a continuation of that realization.”

Oklahoma Track Listing:

  1. I Remember You
  2. Oklahoma
  3. Put A Woman In Charge (Featuring Rosanne Cash)
  4. This Is My Home
  5. Don’t Throw It Away
  6. The Way I
  7. Ridin’ on a Train
  8. I Should’ve
  9. Cold Outside
  10. Beautiful Music (Featuring Robbie Brooks Moore)