Omnivore to re-release two albums by Ska/Rocksteady pioneer Justin Hinds


Justin Hinds topped the charts in Jamaica with his 1964 hit “Carry Go Bring Home” and eventually recorded a staggering 70 singles for the Treasure Island Records label with his backup vocalists the Dominoes. After a short stint with Mango Records in the ’70s, the ska and rocksteady pioneer returned to the studio to record material for Nighthawk Records.

Omnivore Recordings will re-release the two Nighthawk albums, Travel With Love (1984) and Know Jah Better (1992) — the former with ten bonus tracks (seven of which were previously unreleased) — on February 23, 2018.

Travel With Loveoriginally released in 1984, combined Hinds and the Dominoes’ classic past with the evolving reggae sound. The original album’s eight tracks were supplemented with a CD bonus track three years later, and eventually two more songs were unearthed for a 2015 LP reissue. With Omnivore Recordings’ acquisition of the Nighthawk Records label in 2017, even more material has been discovered and added, to create the definitive version of this classic. 

For a limited time, Omnivore Recordings will have original copies of the 2015 180-gram 2-LP reissue available via their webstore <>.

The original Travel With Love was followed almost a decade later by Know Jah Better, in 1992. This time, Hinds moved from his roots and embraced the dancehall scene, while never abandoning the benchmarks of his classic sound. Know Jah Better demonstrates the constant evolution of this Jamaican music legend, always the innovator. 

Both reissues were mastered by Grammy® Award-winning engineer Michael Graves. In addition to the music, the packaging features new art and liner notes from Nighthawk co-founder and producerLeroy Jodie Pierson, who co-produced these new sets with Grammy® Award-winner Cheryl Pawelski.

Travel With Love Track Listing:

1. Get Ready Rock Steady
2. Miss Wendell
3. Book Of History
4. Travel With Love
5. Weeping Eyes
6. In The Jungle
7. Sweet Loraine
8. The Rainbow 
9. Meditation
10. Wolf And Sheep
11. Valley Of Reality
12. Get Ready Rock Steady Version*
13. Miss Wendell Version*
14. Travel With Love Version*
15. In The Jungle Version*
16. Loraine’s Dub*
17. The Rainbow Version*
18. Meditation Version* 
*Previously Unissued 
Know Jah Better Track Listing:
1. War Time
2. War Time Dub
3. Want More
4. Know Jah Better
5. Almond Tree
6. No Place Like Home
7. Happy Go Lucky
8. Picking Up Chips
9. Love In The Morning
10. Deep In The Heart
11. In This Time
12. Proverbial Dub