NRBQ’s new EP, ‘Happy Talk,’ coming on Omnivore on Oct. 20th

You might think that after 50 years, a band might want to settle down and just relax. If you do, you don’t know the Q!
Hot on the heels of last year’s critically acclaimed box set High Noon: A 50-Year History of NRBQ,Terry Adams, Scott Ligon, Casey McDonough, and John Perrin took a few days off from their never-ending touring schedule, entered Harmonium Studio, and finished this new five-song EP, bound in a beautiful six-panel package. Omnivore Recordings will release the EP on October 20, 2017.
Available on CD and Digital, Happy Talk contains two originals and the Q’s spontaneous take
on Roy Orbison’s “Only the Lonely,” along with the band’s years-in-the-making arrangement of Rogers & Hammerstein’s South Pacific tune “Happy Talk,” which serves as the EP’s title track.
According to founding member Terry Adams, “I’ve been crazy about the song ‘Happy Talk’ since I was a kid; I bought every version I could find and still do. I’ve always wanted to record it. To get it right, you must realize that it’s in its own place that’s entirely separate from any song ever written.”
As NRBQ continues a career now reaching into six decades, they show no signs of slowing down. As the song says, “You’ve got to have a dream/if you don’t have a dream/How you gonna have a dream come true?”
Dream on, and enjoy Happy Talk!
Track Listing:
1. Head on a Post (Adams)
2. Yes, I Have a Banana (Mcdonough/Adams)
3. Only the Lonely (Orbison/Melson)
4. Blues Blues Blues (Locke)
5. Happy Talk (Rodgers/Hammerstein II) 
# # #
HEAR NOW: Blurt magazine premiered a track: