Austin Based Funk/Soul Band Flyjack Release ‘New Day’


Austin-based Flyjack releases its third record, New Day – a love letter to late 60’s and early 70’s rare groove, soul and deep funk.  Painstakingly assembled over 17 months at guitarist Buck McKinney’s Rocky Coast Studio, New Day features seven carefully curated underground rare groove classics, and five Flyjack originals.  Utilizing an assortment of vintage microphones, preamps, Moog synths, Wurlitzer electric pianos and other 70’s gear, coupled with modern recording techniques and sonics, Flyack pays homage to underground funk while embracing new possibilities for the genre.

New Day leads off with crate-digger’s gold “It’s a New Day” – a racial protest song originally recorded and released in 1973 by the Skull Snaps on the tiny GSF label. The song’s call-to-action resonated with Flyjack – particularly in the wake of recent events like the Women’s March and the protests against President Trump’s anti-immigration executive orders. The Skull Snaps’ original is probably best known for its opening drumbreak – which has been sampled on countless records by everyone from Gang Starr to Ol’ Dirty Bastard to DJ Shadow.  However, the song has never been covered in its entirety until now.  Flyjack’s version is decidedly psychedelic – with a heavy percussion breakdown followed by an echo-drenched Ernie Isley-ish guitar solo, and a call-and-answer to close-out the piece.

A video of “It’s a New Day” is currently in production.  Shot by Austin director Ray Schlogel of Underground Planet, the video features footage of recent political events, and breakdancing by conga player Rudy Canales and Austin B-Boy dancer Dave Rok a/k/a David Trevino.

The first Flyjack original to receive a push at non-com radio will be “Motherload,” a propulsive funk number reminiscent of Stevie Wonder’s Superstition. Motherlode tells the story of an everyman who finds good luck and fortune, but knows better than to believe it will last. The track features the Hellfire Horns and Grupo Fantasma alum Rudy Canales on congas; and a honking, gut-bucket saxophone solo by Topaz McGarrigle (Golden Dawn Arkestra).

New Day is out now on McKinney’s label Bean Pie Records, this release is available everywhere. This is the band’s third record, and first full length LP. Members include Buck McKinney (Guitars, Vocals, Percussion), Brad Bradburn (Bass Vocals) – both of whom hail from Austin-based acid-jazz group Gnappy, which released 3 well-received albums between 2001 and 2006, and was featured in the 2003 book Jambands by Dean Budnick.  Flyjack is rounded out by Nigel Finely (Keyboards, Vocals), Andy Rumelt (Keyboards, Harmonica), Jeremy Portwood (Drums), Ari Dvorin (Sax) and Mike Shields (Trumpet).

Flyjack will be touring regionally in support of New Day. Live shows will feature a 10-piece band, including Canales on Congas, and newest members Wyatt Corder (Trumpet) and Will Wright (Trombone) – both from Big Wy’s Brass Band.

Flyjack’s mission is twofold – to resurrect rare groove classics while energizing a new generation of music-lovers.

Track listing:

  • It’s a New Day

  • Motherlode

  • Soulful Proclamation

  • Flame Thrower

  • The Jungle

  • Everybody Has Some Dues to Pay

  • The Worm

  • Gossip

  • Steam Train

  • Funky Fast Bump

  • Plums

  • The Master