Third Man Records celebrates Leon Redbone with unreleased recordings

Third Man Records has announced the release of LONG WAY FROM HOME, the previously unreleased earliest recordings of legendary jazz-blues musician Leon Redbone. LONG WAY FROM HOME arrives via CD, digital, and LP on Friday, December 2ND.
In addition, Third Man will release an exclusive vinyl-only reissue of Redbone’s classic debut album, ON THE TRACK, first released by Warner Bros in 1975. Produced by GRAMMY® Award-winning jazz icon Joel Dorn (Mose Allison, Jimmy Scott, Roberta Flack), the landmark collection is reissued by TMR on Friday, December 2ND.
LONG WAY FROM HOME collects 18 tracks, the first eight of which are from a live performance at the end of 1972 at the University of Buffalo’s coffee house.  Dave Benders recorded the remaining 10 songs for a 1972 radio session for the University’s WBFO. The compilation – comprising typically distinctive Redbone renditions of Tin Pan Alley and ragtime favorites – marks the first ever official release of these important early recordings, a milestone in the enigmatic singer-guitarist’s idiosyncratic creative development.
Third Man is further marking LONG WAY FROM HOME and ON THE TRACK by premiering previously unseen footage of Redbone performing the album’s “My Walking Stick” live at the 1973 Buffalo Folk Festival, streaming now exclusively at TK.
ON THE TRACK is among the most remarkable debut albums of 1975 or any other year, a reverent and remarkably authentic revival of late 19th century and early 20th century popular music, spanning Roaring Twenties radio ditties, Depression-era ragtime, the folk-jazz of World War II, and still-sung favorites by songwriters like Irving Berlin, Hoagy Carmichael & Johnny Mercer, Fats Waller, Al Dubin & Harry Warren, Lonnie Johnson, and Jimmie Rodgers. The album – which sees Redbone accompanied by such studio luminaries as drummer Steve Gadd, percussionist Ralph MacDonald, and the great double bassist Milt Hinton – was an across-the-board success, reaching #83 on Billboard‘s overall “Top LPs & Tape” chart amidst widespread critical acclaim. TMR’s exclusive vinyl reissue of ON THE TRACK comes in a 12″ single pocket, direct-to-board replica of the original Warner Bros. Records release, with classic cover art featuring a Chuck Jones illustration of Merrie Melodies star Michigan J. Frog.
Leon Redbone – who only recently retired from active recording and live performance – is a true original, a one of a kind singer, songwriter, and guitarist whose imitable interpretations of turn of the 20th century music have affirmed him as both Invaluable curator and resounding pop pioneer. Redbone began performing in Toronto more than four decades ago, earning the approval of such notables as Bob Dylan, The Lovin’ Spoonful’s John Sebastian, and famed producer John Hammond. Immediately iconic in his trademark Panama hat and dark sunglasses, Redbone proved an exceptional star, known far and wide via laconic performances on Saturday Night Live, The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson, and A Prairie Home Companion. His remarkable work in the years since encompass a stunning range of creative output – 13 studio albums, sold out live performances around the globe, multiple TV themes, countless commercials, voiceovers, and a memorable duet with Zooey Deschanel of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” featured in the 2003 holiday blockbuster, Elf. Throughout, Redbone’s greatest contribution has been his undying championship of America’s musical heritage, his singular talent introducing generation after generation to a still potent folk tradition.
(Third Man Records)
Release Date: Friday, December 2nd
1.     Looked Down the Road
2.     Mother Queen of My Heart
3.     T B Blues
4.     Don’t Let It Bother You
5.     Marie
6.     Me and the Devil
7.     If I Had a Possession Over Judgement Day
8.     Mississippi Blues
9.     Kind Hearted Woman
10.  Love Letters
11.  Hurry Home
12.  Jailhouse Blues
13.  Walking Stick
14.  Catman
15.  Gamblin’ Barroom Blues
16.  My Good Gal’s Gone
17.  Yodelling Cowboy
18.  Bootleg Rum Dum Blues
(Third Man Records)
Release Date: Friday, December 2nd
1.     Sweet Mama Hurry Home Or I’ll Be Gone
2.     Ain’t Misbehavin’ (I’m Savin’ My Love For You)
3.     My Walking Stick
4.     Lazybones
5.     Marie
6.     Desert Blues (Big Chief Buffalo Nickel)
7.     Lulu’s Back In Town
8.     Some Of These Days
9.     Big Time Woman
10.  Haunted House
11.  Polly Wolly Doodle
Both releases will be available for pre-order at: