NRBQ career-spanning 5-CD box set coming from Omnivore on Nov. 11th


There aren’t many bands that have lasted for 50 years, and the list of those still at the top of their creative game is even smaller. High Noon: A 50-Year Retrospective will offer a fascinating look at one of the best. Street date for the set is November 11, 2016.

Over the past half century, NRBQ has proven to be a group of peerless and unique musicians, songwriters and performers, continuing to prove it with each new album and live performance.

Omnivore Recordings will celebrate this legendary band with the release of High Noon: A 50-Year Retrospective consisting of five CDs of classic recordings all carefully remastered along with many rare and previously unissued gems in an attractive package featuring extensive notes and previously unseen photos.

High Noon
contains 106 songs and offers a new and fascinating look at a great band, with each disc a unique listening adventure unto itself. The set provides a unique perspective for devoted fans as well as for adventurous newcomers who might only know of NRBQ through other artists’ versions of originals like “Me and the Boys,” “Ridin’ in My Car” and “Christmas Wish” or from hearing their music on TV shows such as The Simpsons, Weeds or Wilfred.Formed in 1966 in Louisville, Kentucky, NRBQ has always been fueled by a deep, far-reaching love of music ─ from Sun Records to Sun Ra, as founding member Terry Adams told The New YorkTimes in 1969. That abiding and unwavering “music first” philosophy, mixed with joy, spontaneity and a playful, unpretentious virtuosity, has served NRBQ incredibly well over the last 50 years ─ whether at the Fillmore East, the Berlin Jazz Festival, the New York Folk Festival, the Grand Ole Opry or in countless clubs, colleges, concert halls and recording studios; as a quartet or quintet; with or without the Whole Wheat Horns; alone or with rockabilly legend Carl Perkins, country singer Skeeter Davisor wrestling manager Captain Lou Albano. And the band’s well-known fans throughout the years are an equally diverse group, including Jimi Hendrix, Bonnie Raitt, the Replacements, Elvis Costello, John Sebastian, and Penn and Teller.

Of High Noon, Adams says, “I’m very happy to have taken part in this project with Omnivore Recordings. We had a lot of fun putting it together and in doing so, we had to go back to the beginning. It has enabled me to come into direct contact with the original intent. Not only that, but I can feel the spirit of every year of the 50. The band started hot and the band keeps getting hotter!

“They say that you’re not supposed to brag, but I have to. I’M WITH NRBQ.

“I think this band is like no other. First of all, we have and always have had some of the best musicians and songwriters on the planet. What we do is unlike any other rock & roll band. Music is always first. We play for the moment. We have never limited our influences and look to life itself for inspiration. I say thanks to all involved who have been there to help make it happen. Wish I could say more, but the rest of the guys just pulled into my driveway. Gotta go!”

Disc One: Everybody
Say Yeah! (2005–2016)
1. Love In Outer Space
2. Never Cop Out (Live)
3. Waitin’ On My Sweetie Pie
4. Ruby, My Dear
5. I’d Like To Know
6. Boozoo And Leona (Live)
7. I’m Alone
8. Can’t Wait To Kiss You
9. Everybody Say Yeah!
10. In Every Dream
11. Here I Am
12. The Animal Life
13. Getting To Know You
14. Talk
15. Snowfall (Live)
16. Keep This Love Goin’
17. Fightin’ Back
18. Let Go (Live)
19. Dutchess County Jail  Terry Adams & Steve Ferguson
Disc Two: Ain’t It
All Right (1966–1970)
1. Ain’t It All Right
2. Rocket Number 9
3. Tina
4. I Say Gooday Goodnite
5. Down In My Heart
6. Have You Heard
7. Dr. Howard, Dr. Fine, Dr. Howard
8. Get On The Right Track Baby (Live)
9. You Move So Fast (Live)
10. Flat Foot Flewzy
11. You Got Me Goin’
12. On The Farm
13. You Can’t Hide
14. Step Aside (Live)
15. Benellie
16. I Feel Good (Live)
17. Fergie’s Prayer
18. C’mon Everybody
19. Stomp
20. Stay With We
21. Heartbreaker (1966 Home Recording)
22. The Waiting Song  The Seven Of Us
23. We Are Brothers (Live)
Disc Three: Do You
Feel It? (1971–1978)
1. That’s Neat, That’s Nice
2. Green Lights
3. Help Me Somebody
4. Only You
5. This Old House
6. Ridin’ In My Car
7. Things To You
8. Do You Feel It?
9. Howard Johnson’s Got His Ho-Jo Workin’
10. Electric Train
11. Magnet
12. Honey Hush (Live)
13. Get That Gasoline Blues (Unedited Single Version)
14. It’s Not Too Late
15. It Feels Good
16. Still In School
17. Be My Woman Tonight (Live)
18. RC Cola And A Moon Pie (Single Version)
19. Get Rhythm
20. You And I And George (Live)
21. It’s Not So Hard
Disc Four: Me And
The Boys (1977–1990)
1. Captain Lou with Lou Albano
2. Me And The Boys
3. Talk To Me
4. I Love Her, She Loves Me
5. Smackaroo (Instrumental)
6. This Love Is True
7. Feel You Around Me
8. Crazy Like A Fox (Live)
9. Rain At The Drive-In
10. S’posin’ (Live)
11. Wacky Tobacky
12. The One And Only
13. How Can I Make You Love Me
14. I Got A Rocket In My Pocket (Live)
15. Boy’s Life
16. Never Take The Place Of You
17. Want You To Feel Good Too
18. I Want You Bad
19. She Got The House (Live)
20. 12 Bar Blues
21. My Girlfriend’s Pretty
22. Christmas Wish
Disc Five: Puddin’
Truck (1989–2004)
1. Little Floater
2. Sail On Sail On
3. Next Stop Brattleboro
4. What You Mean To Me
5. If I Don’t Have You
6. One Big Parking Lot
7. Love Came To Me
8. Dummy
9. Terry Got A Muffin
10. It’s St. Patrick’s Day
11. 21-50 To Headquarters
12. Do The Primal Thing
13. Goodbye
14. Puddin’ Truck
15. Ain’t No Horse
16. Blame It On The World
17. Imaginary Radio
18. Always Safety First
19. Advice For Teenagers
20. Paris (Live)
21. See You Soon