Keller Williams' Grateful Grass Releases New Album, DOS, to Benefit the Rex Foundation

0
91

Today, singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Keller Williams and Grateful Dead’s Rex Foundation release DOS.  DOS is the second Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass album to benefit the charitable non-profit organization started by the Grateful Dead to give grants to a variety of worthwhile causes. DOS is available for digital purchase now at nugs.net, with 100% of the proceeds going to benefit The Rex Foundation.

Culled from the live recording of “Nightfall of Diamonds”-
A Benefit for the Rex Foundation 
at The Fillmore in San Francisco on December 7, 2013, DOS features Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass with Keller (guitar), Michael Kang (violin), Jeff Austin (mandolin), and Keith Moseley (bass) performing not-so-traditional bluegrass versions of  beloved Grateful Dead songs.  Among the ten tracks – “Jack Straw,” “High Time,” “Sampson and Delilah,” and “Althea.”  View the full track list here.

DOS is the third album released by Keller Williams to benefit the Rex Foundation. Grateful Grass’ 2008 recording, REX (Live at the Fillmore), and Keller’s 2013 solo release, KEYS: A collection of Grateful Dead Covers on Piano, have raised tens of thousands of dollars to support the grants Rex Foundation distributes to grassroots non-profit programs. “Keller’s contributions to Rex have been significant and worthwhile,” says The Grateful Dead’s Mickey Hart. “We have deep appreciation for the help he has provided in serving the community we all care about.”

For Keller, it’s his honor to participate in Rex Foundation projects. “They are all about music, creativity, and community,” he explains. “It makes giving to a great cause, great fun – and it’s a perfect excuse to play Grateful Dead music.”

Look for Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass performing at a handful of upcoming festivals including Arise Music Festival, YarmonyGrass, Lockn’, Utopiafest, and DSO’s Jam In the Sand. Featuring an ever-rotating cast of musicians, this summer/fall Grateful Grass offers up such players as Billy Nershi, Jeff Austin, Keith Moseley, Allie Kral, Reed MathisVince Herman, and Sam Grisman. See below for exact Grateful Grass lineups and for Keller Williams’ complete summer/fall tour schedule.

The complete list of currently confirmed Keller Williams tour dates is as follows:
Friday, August 1 Gathering of the Vibes Bridgeport CT
Sunday, August 3 Salmonstock Ninilchik AK
Saturday, August 9 Rhythms On the Rio Festival South Fork CO
Sunday, August 10 Arise Music Festival Loveland CO Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass featuring
Billy Nershi, Reed Mathis, and Allie Kral
Saturday, August 16 YarmonyGrass Music Festival Bond CO Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass
featuring Jeff Austin and Keith Moseley
Friday, August 29 The Ville Fest North Lawrence OH
Saturday, August 30 Big Moon Rising Music Festival Big Sky MT Keller Williams with More Than A Little
Sunday, August 31 Red Lion Hotel Kalispelll MT
Friday, September 5 – Sunday, September 7 Lockn’ Arrington VA Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass
featuring Jeff Austin and Keith Moseley plus Keller Williams Grateful Gospel Featuring More Than A Little w/ John Kadlecik (Furthur)
Thursday, September 11 (Utopia Fest Pre-Party)- Friday, September 12 Utopiafest Utopia TX Keller Solo and Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass Featuring Jeff Austin and Sam Grisman
Thursday, September 18 Phoenix Concert Theatre Toronto ON with Canada Chameleon Project
Friday, September 19 The Tralf Buffalo NY
Saturday, September 20 Sherman Theater Stroudsburg PA
Thursday, September 25 – Saturday, September 27 Watermelon Park Fest Berryville, VA Keller
solo, Keller & The Keels, and Keller Williams with More Than A Little
Thursday, October 2 Legends at Appalachian State University Boone NC
Friday, October 3 The Chop Shop Charlotte NC
Friday, October 10 The Festy Experience at Devil’s Backbone Roseland VA Keller Williams with
More Than A Little
Thursday, October 16 Terminal West Atlanta GA Keller Williams with More Than A Little
Friday, October 17 Magnolia Music Festival Live Oak Fl Keller Williams with More Than A little
Thursday, November 6 Port City Music Hall Portland ME
Friday, November 7 Paradise Rock Club Boston MA
Saturday, November 8 Higher Ground South Burlington VT
Thursday, November 13 The Bluebird Bloomington IN
Friday, November 14 Copper Dragon Carbondale IL
Saturday, November 15 The Blue Note Columbia, MO
Friday, February 27 – Monday, March 2 DSO Jam in the Sand Negril Keller Williams’ Grateful
Grass Featuring Vince Herman, Sam Grisman & Allie Kral plus Keller & His Compadres & Keller Williams Solo

Additional dates to be announced.

www.kellerwilliams.net