Angaleena Presley's New Album 'American Middle Class' Out Oct. 14


Angaleena Presley
Angaleena Presley

Photo by Blu Sander

Angaleena Presley’s new album ‘American Middle Class’ will be released Tuesday, October 14 on Slate Creek Records in partnership with distributor Thirty Tigers. Presley — known to fans as “Holler Annie” from the Platinum selling trio The Pistol Annies (Miranda Lambert, Ashley Monroe) — is the sole writer of five of the album’s 12 tracks, and co-writer of the remaining seven, which she penned alongside a who’s who of Nashville’s best. Presley, a natural melodist, co-produced the album with husband, Jordan Powell.

Written in the tradition of Willie Nelson’s Red Headed Stranger, ‘American Middle Class’ is a true concept record. “It’s like my autobiography – each of the songs is a chapter of my life. I’ve literally lived every minute of this record,” says the coal miner’s daughter hailing from Beauty, Kentucky. “My mama ain’t none too happy about me spreading my business around but I have to do it,” Presley says. “It’s the experience of my life from birth to now.”

Presley shines as a producer on this album, having thoughtfully selected an enviable cast of musicians and background vocalists to help bring her vision to life. Vocalists include Patty Loveless, Chris Stapleton, Emily Saliers (Indigo Girls) and even her father, Jimmy Presley, who opens the title track with a personal narrative.

The musicians chosen for this album comprise some of Nashville’s finest: Keith Gattis and Audley Freed on guitars, mandolins, and dobros; Josh Grange on pedal steel; Fred Elrtingham on drums; Grammy winner Glenn Worff and Motown-influenced Aden Bubeck on bass (both upright and electric); David Henry on cello and strings; and John Henry Trinko on organ and piano.

The result is an undeniably honest, accessible look into the life of one of Nashville’s finest songwriters through 12 tightly-written tracks delivered with sass, grit and conviction.

Fans will get to experience Angaleena’s ‘American Middle Class’ on the road soon. “Playing live is the ultimate connection for a songwriter,” she says, “you get to see firsthand how your songs affect someone and I love it.” Presley recently announced several Indigo Girls dates and will soon reveal fall tour plans.

American Middle Class releases October 14 on Slate Creek Records.

Track Writers
1. Ain’t No Man Presley
2. All I Ever Wanted Presley
3. Grocery Store Presley/Lori McKenna
4. American Middle Class Presley
5. Dry County Blues Presley/Mark D. Sanders
6. Pain Pills Presley
7. Life Of The Party Presley/Matraca Berg
8. Knocked Up Presley/Mark D. Sanders
9. Better Off Red Presley
10. Drunk Presley/Sarah Siskind
11. Blessing And A Curse Presley/Bob DiPiero
12. Surrender Presley/Luke Laird/Barry Dean

Official Website: