The Avett Brothers To Headline Americana Music Festival In Nashville On 9/20 – Over 80 Artists Announced


The Americana Music Association expands its festival and conference in its 15th year by announcing its most ambitious and eclectic lineup to date. Anchored by its 13th Annual Honors & Awards show on Wed. Sept. 17 at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium, the association also adds three-time Americana Group of the Year, The Avett Brothers, to a headlining slot at Riverfront Parl on Saturday Sept. 20.

Throughout the festival and conference — highlighted by Travel + Leisure as a fine-tuned music destination in its June print issue — a total of 160 artists perform in 11 venues including 3rd & Lindsley, The Basement, City Winery, High Watt, Cannery, Mercy Lounge, The Rutledge, Station Inn, Music City Roots, Downtown Presbyterian Church and Musicians Corner.

Admission to The Avett Brothers’ Riverfront show, co-presented by WRLT Lightning 100, will be included in Americana’s Music Festival & Conference registrations and tickets for the general public will go on sale Friday, June 27 at 10AM via

The growth of Americana as a genre -curated and cultivated by the Americana Music Association – is evidenced by recent partnerships with cultural epicenter Lincoln Center for “Americana NYC” on August 6-10 and a new GRAMMY category created for the Americana Roots Field announced in early June: “Best American Roots Performance.” This category is the genre’s third and the only new category created by the Academy this year.

The first half of Americanafest’s performing artist list includes:

Allison Moorer Green River Ordinance McCrary Sisters
Amy Ray Greensky Bluegrass Nathaniel Rateliff
Angaleena Presley Gregory Alan Isakov New Country Rehab
The Avett Brothers Greyhounds Oh Susanna
The Barefoot Movement The Harpoonist & the Axe Murderer Otis Gibbs
Ben Miller Band Hayes Carll Parker Millsap
Billy Joe Shaver Howlin’ Brothers Paul Thorn
Black Prairie Immigrant Union Pete Molinari
Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay Isreal Nash Quebe Sisters Band
Buddy Miller Jamestown Revival Rhett Miller
The Cactus Blossoms Jason Eady Robbie Fulks
Carlene Carter JD Wilkes & the Dirt Daubers Robyn Hitchcock
Caroline Rose Joe Henry Rodney Crowell
Chatham County Line Joe Pug Ruthie Foster
Chuck Mead Joe Purdy Ryan Montbleau
Danny & The Champions of the World John Moreland Sam Outlaw
The Deadly Gentleman Jonah Tolchin Sarah Jarosz
Del Barber Johnny Two Bags Sean Rowe
The Deslondes Josh Ritter Shakey Graves
Doug Seegers Joshua James Suzy Bogguss
The Duhks Lake Street Dive Todd Snider & Friends
The Dustbowl Revival Lee Ann Womack Tom Freund
Emily Barker & the Red Clay Halo Leo Welch Tony Joe White
Ethan Johns Lera Lynn Trigger Hippy (Jackie Greene, Joan Osbourne,
The Fairfield Four Marah Presents: Mountain Minstrelsy Steve Gorman, Tom Bukovac & Nick Govrik)
The Grahams Marty Stuart Whiskey Shivers
Grant-Lee Phillips Matthew Ryan Willie Watson

The 15th annual Americana Music Festival & Conference, presented by Nissan will take place September 17-21, 2014 in Nashville, Tenn. kicked off by the 13th annual Americana Honors & Awards Show on Sept. 17 at the historic Ryman Auditorium.

The Americana Music Association is a professional non-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American Roots Music around the world. The Association produces events throughout the year including the annual Americana Music Festival and Conference, presented by Nissan, and the critically acclaimed Americana Honors & Awards program. For more information, please visit

For more information on the Americana Music Association and to become a member click here.