The Hold Steady Release Video For "I Hope This Whole Thing Didn't Frighten You" and Announce More Tour Dates


The Hold Steady
The Hold Steady

The Hold Steady have released a new video for the song “I Hope This Whole Thing Didn’t Frighten You,” the first track from their recently released album, Teeth Dreams (Positive Jams/Washington Square). The high-energy clip directed by Brooks Jones was shot at the already legendary 10th anniversary show at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in February and shows the band on stage in full-throttle, and cuts in exclusive behind-the-scenes footage.

Watch: The Hold Steady – “I Hope This Whole Thing Didn’t Frighten You” Video

The band are announcing a slew of summer tour dates that begin in Asbury Park, NJ, on June 27 and end in Santa Fe on August 6. The first two shows will be co-headlining dates with Drive-By Truckers, with festival stops in Milwaukee (SummerFest), East Lansing, MI (Common Ground), Telluride, CO )The Ride Festival, Philadelphia (XPoNential Festival), Edmonton, AB, Canada (Interstellar Rodeo), Richmond, VA (Fall Line Festival) and Boston, MA (Boston Calling). Cheap Girls will serve as support July 14 – August 6.  The complete list of The Hold Steady tour dates is below A presale via the band’s fanclub and begins Wednesday at 10am local time. More dates will be announced soon.

Teeth Dreams is the New York band’s sixth album and first on its own Positive Jams imprint via new label Washington Square, itself a newly established imprint formed by Razor & Tie. The album was produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Alice in Chains, Rush, Evanescence) at Rock Falcon Studios in Franklin, TN.

Teeth Dreams has been receiving raves from the press. The New York Times claimed, “The Hold Steady has boldly rebuilt its music from within. The band’s essence is still the voice and words of Craig Finn, an elliptical storyteller who sings (and talk-sings) with a robust grit,” while Rolling Stone said, “The Brooklyn crew’s punked-up bar-band rock is more streamlined now. But the addition of a second guitarist makes for a big sound that gives Finn more room for detail and nuance.” The Associated Press exclaimed, “The Hold Steady’s New Album Is Classic,” and USA Today gave the record three and a half out of four stars saying, “Blue-collar rock and gritty story-songs of desperation and sketchy connections infuse the Brooklyn band’s powerful sixth album. Ferocious, chiming guitars frame Craig Finn’s half-spoken narratives of lives on the edge.” In their A- review, the AV Club enthused, “The Hold Steady as a whole has at last jelled into a rock band-nothing more, nothing less, and nothing held back,” and Stereogum hailed, “The Hold Steady is back to being one of our great working rock bands, a force that we should not take for granted.”

The Hold Steady is: Bobby Drake (Drums), Craig Finn  (Vocals), Tad Kubler  (Guitar, vocals), Galen Polivka  (Bass) and Steve Selvidge (Guitar, vocals).

The complete list of Hold Steady tour dates is below and more dates will be announced soon.

27 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Stone Pony Summer Stage *
28 – Huntington, NY @ Paramount Theatre *

2 – Chicago, IL @ Concord Music Hall
5 – Minneapolis, MN @ Weesner Amphitheatre
8 – Lansing, MI @ Common Ground Music Festival
10 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
12 – Telluride, CO @ The Ride Festival / Telluride Town Park
14 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
15 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House
17 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
18 – Seattle, WA @ The Neptune
19 –  Vancouver, BC @ River Rock Casino
21 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
23 – Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s
25 – 26 – Camden NJ @ WXPN / Wiggins Park / River stage
27 – Edmonton, AB @ Interstellar Rodeo
29 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey
31 – Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern

1 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
2 – Las Vegas, NV @ Vinyl
4 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
5 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
6 – Santa Fe, NM @ Sol Santa Fe
30 – Highmount, NY/Brooklyn @Belleayre

5 – Richmond, VA @ Fall Line Fest / The National
6 – 7 – Boston, MA – Boston Calling Festival

* co-headline with Drive-By Truckers