Jeff Black Announces April 1 Release of Latest Album Folklore


Singer/songwriter Jeff Black is pleased to announce the release of his upcoming album, Folklore on April 1, 2014. Folklore is the eleventh album from Black, a respected and pioneering influence on modern folk and roots music for more than three decades.

Folklore closely follows the back to back critically acclaimed releases Plow Through The Mystic and last year’s B-Sides and Confessions, Volume Two. Black’s 2013 release was praised by Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange as “One of those wonderful seemingly unassuming riches that kind of sneaks its way into your consciousness and won’t leave… an outstanding piece of work.” No Depression hailed, “His words and voice hold down center stage with a craft so deeply in the artistic pocket that it obscures anything outside.” His latest work Folklore delivers a new chapter of moving and soulful songs from this lauded storyteller.

Recorded at Black’s Arcana Studios and mixed by Dave Sinko (Chris Thile & the Punch Brothers, Sam Bush Band, Don Williams), Folklore resonates with Black’s consistently solid songwriting — where verse and melody inspire a movie in your mind, eliciting universal emotions that connect us all. The title and the title track, “Folklore” are both testaments to this connectedness. Folklore — as it’s namesake suggests — is a true “bare bones” folk album, and by definition, is a collection of traditions and stories that highlight Black’s role as both a songwriter and performer.

Black wrote every song and recorded the studio performances with an intentional sparseness and urgency, without overdubs and time codes. A 5 string banjo, 6 and 12 string acoustic guitars and a harmonica create the soundtrack to the visuals evoked across the album’s 13 tracks. Folklore is Black’s most traditional folk album to date, a contemporary folk collection of songs that tell vivid stories full of narrative and history, where voice and instrumentation interplay seamlessly with the lyric content. The album cover features an archival family photo of Black’s father and uncle, further cementing the authenticity of the roots Black draws from on this project.

The cover photograph was taken by Black’s paternal grandmother, Lotos Nile Black circa 1930. Jeff Black writes in his liner notes: “I think it’s the picture of my Dad looking into the camera, into the future, that inspires me, and the fade of my Uncle into the unknown that keeps me searching.”

Folklore is available for pre-order via iTunes and beginningMarch 1st. Black will play select dates in 2014 including showcases at Folk Alliance, SXSW and the Kerrville Folk Festival.

# # #

Folklore tracklist:

1. Rider Coming
2. Folklore
3. Break the Ground
4. Howdy Do
5. Cages Of My Heart
6. 63’ Mercury Meteor
7. Lemonade
8. #10 Bus
9. No Quarter
10. Sing Together
11. Tom Domino
12. Flat Car
13. Decoration Day