19th Annual USA Songwriting Competition Kicks Off


The 19th Annual USA Songwriting Competition is currently accepting entries. Sponsors include the biggest names in the music industry: Gibson Guitars, Epiphone, Sony, Audio-Technica, D’Addario Strings, Other sponsors include New Music Weekly, AirplayAccess, Loggins Promotion, BerkleeOnline, Presonus, iZotope, Notion Software, Sonoma Wireworks, Acoustic Café Radio Program, Songwriters Pad, M+ New Release, Reverbnation, Broadjam, Sirius XM Radio and Sonicbids.

For the first time, the all top 3 winners of USA Songwriting Competition have all hit the Billboard Charts in the 2013 USA Songwriting Competition:

American Authors (songwriters: Dave Rublin, Shepherd Goodman, Aaron Accetta, James Adam Shelley, Matthew Sanchez and Zachary Barnett) hit #35 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts, won the Overall Grand Prize with their song “Believer”. They have been signed to Island Records.

Tony DeSare (Overall Second Prize Winner), hit #5 on the Billboard Charts. He is signed to Telarc/Concord records.

Auburn Williams (Overall Third Prize Winner), hit #51 on the Billboard Hot 100 Charts. She is signed to Beluga Heights/Warner Brothers.

In addition, the first prize winner of the Country Category, John Bulford, hit #1 on the Billboard Country Charts.

Hit songwriter Gary Burr, a finalist in the Country category with “Not Ready To Lose” with co-writer Dianna Corcoran.

Hit songwriter Mary Danna, a finalist in the Country category with “If I Have To Explain” with co-writers Mark Thalacker and Alan Holstrom.

USA Songwriting Competition has a long history of having winners getting recording and publishing contracts, have their songs placed on the charts as well as having their songs placed on film and television. The top two winners of 2011: Nenna Yvonne and Alexander Cardinale have been signed to Interscope Records after their win.

2009 First Prize winner (country) was signed to Universal Records. 2005 First Prize winner (Pop) Kate Voegele was signed to Interscope Records the year after she won and had her winning song hit top 40 on the Billboard Charts, her latest album hit Top 10 on the Billboard 200 Album charts this summer. 2007 Overall Grand Prize Winner Ari Gold had his winning song “Where The Music Takes You” hit #10 on the Billboard Dance Charts. Darrell Scott, winner of the country category of the 2005 USA Song writing Competition had his winning song cut by award winning country singer Faith Hill. The 2010 winner in the instrumental category, Christopher Tinn won two Grammy awards in 2011. Judges include A&R managers from record labels such as Warner, Capitol Records, Universal, BMG/SONY Music.

Songs may be entered in 15 different categories including Pop, Rock/Alternative, R&B and Country. Entries are accepted from now through May 30, 2014. For more information, visit: