Jason Isbell's "Southeastern" Set for June 11 Release


Nashville, TN – Southeastern, the new solo album from Jason Isbell, will be released on June 11 via Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. Southeastern contains 12 new Isbell compositions and the most personal songs of self-reflection and discovery he has written to date.

The lyrics of the beautiful and haunting opening track “Cover Me Up”, make it immediately apparent that Isbell is speaking from an entirely new viewpoint. The song features his strongest vocals to date, but also kicks the door to his soul wide open for all to see. Isbell struggled, fought his demons and has remained sober for over a year now. Also, he was recently married and has entered the next chapter of his life. However, Southeastern is not an album preaching sobriety, but a work of repentance, self-realization and most importantly, personal growth.

By no means is Southeastern a wholly solemn offering. Tracks such as “Stockholm” (with Kim Richey) and “Traveling Alone” (with Amanda Shires) offer laid back tempos and memorable choruses, while “Flying Over Water” and “Super 8” are strong reminders of Isbell’s deep roots in rock. The poetic and deeply intimate lyrics are the common thread that runs throughout the album, perhaps no better illustrated than on “Live Oak”. “There’s a man who walks beside me, he is who I used to be / and I wonder if she sees him and confuses him with me / and I wonder who she’s pining for on nights I’m not around / could it be the man who did the things I’m living down.”

Southeastern features 400 Unit members Derry deBorja (keyboards) and Chad Gamble (drums) along with Richey and Shires. The album was produced by Dave Cobb (Jamey Johnson, The Secret Sisters).

Southeastern is Isbell’s first solo album since his 2007 debut Sirens of the Ditch.

Since then he has recorded three acclaimed albums (two studio, one live) with his band The 400 Unit. 2011’s Here We Rest became Isbell’s most celebrated effort to date, cracking the top 100 on the Billboard Top 200 Albums Chart for the first time. Here We Rest received high praise from a wide range of media, includingNPRAssociated Press, Esquire, GQ, SPINUSA Today, Blurt, My Old Kentucky Blog and many more. Since the release, Isbell has made two appearances with the 400 Unit on The Late Show with David Letterman and his song “Alabama Pines” won SONG OF THE YEAR at the 2012 Americana Music Awards & Honors.


Jason Isbell – Southeastern
Track Listing
“Cover Me Up”
“Traveling Alone”
“Flying Over Water”
“Different Days”
“Live Oak”
“Songs That She Sang In The Shower”
“New South Wales”
“Super 8”
“Relatively Easy”