Graham Parker reunites the Rumour, stars in new Apatow film


Graham Parker has reunited his original band the Rumour for their first album together in 31 years, Three Chords Good, outNovember 20 via Primary Wave Records. Produced by Dave Cook and Graham Parker, the collection’s twelve original tracks of driving and confessional rock and roll were recorded in upstate New York and feature the classic Rumour line-up of Brinsley Schwarz and Martin Belmont on guitars, Steve Goulding on drums, Andrew Bodnar on bass and Bob Andrews on keyboards. “After a hiatus of over 30 years, it was extraordinary to hear the Rumour backing my material again,” says Parker. “We’ve finally made an album of true musical collaboration that we’re all very proud of.”

The release comes in the middle of a busy time for Parker. After first contacting the band to re-form in May 2011, Parker and the Rumour were done recording by mid-July. Coincidentally, just as reunion plans were being set, writer/director/producer Judd Apatow approached Parker, offering a role in his new film, This Is 40, an original comedy that expands upon the story of Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann) from the blockbuster hit Knocked Up as we see first-hand how they are dealing with their current state of life. The now-finished film will be released on December 21, 2012, and features Parker, as himself, performing in a duo (with Tom Freund) and with the Rumour. “Getting to film Graham Parker and the Rumour’s first performance in 30 years was one of the highlights of my career,” says Apatow. “They rocked hard, and I must say Graham Parker as an actor is really funny.”

A second film, Don’t Ask Me Questions, a documentary on Parker by the Gramaglia Brothers (End Of The Century: The Story Of The Ramones), has been in the works for over ten years and captures the recording of Three Chords Good and Parker and the Rumour on the set of This is 40 in Hollywood. The documentary’s release date is not yet confirmed.

Parker and the Rumour’s 1980 split followed a run of well-received albums produced by Nick Lowe among others. In the years since, Parker has released numerous albums and performs regularly. After writing and demoing the songs that would become Three Chords Good Parker knew the Rumour were the only band that could back him to fulfill his vision for this new album.

Graham Parker and the Rumour will tour the U.S. later this year with dates to be announced.

Track listing for Three Chords Good:
1) Snake Oil Capital Of The World
2) Long Emotional Ride
3) Stop Cryin’ About The Rain
4) She Rocks Me
5) Three Chords Good
6) Old Soul
7) A Lie Gets Halfway ‘Round The World…
8. That Moon Was Low
9) Live In Shadows
10) Arlington’s Busy
11) Coathangers
12) Last Bookstore In Town