Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles Release Music Video for "Just A Kid"; New Album "HEAT" Scheduled For May 29 Release


Minneapolis sextet Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles are pleased to announce the premiere of their new music video for their song “Just A Kid” through VEVO. The video was created by Picture Machine Productions, the same team who produced last year’s music video for Bon Iver’s “Calgary.” Watch the video for “Just A Kid” below:

The band have made “Just A Kid” available as a free download on their website. Use this link to download the song for free:


“Just a Kid” is the opening track on the band’s newest full length, HEAT, scheduled for release on May 29thHEAT is the band’s fourth full-length release and their first since 2010’s Good of That. The album was recorded at Vacation Island Recording Studios in Brooklyn with acclaimed producer/engineer Matt Boynton (MGMT, Beirut, Bat for Lashes). HEAT spotlights the band’s eclectic musical style, creating a brilliant wash of organic psych-folk from a blend of interweaving ukeleles, accordion, electric guitar, upright bass, cello, drums and (of course) Lucy Michelle’s uniquely recognizable vocals. For complete track listing, please see below.

The band will celebrate the release of HEAT by headlining First Avenue’s legendary Mainroom in Minneapolis on Friday, April 20th. Internationally renowned singer-songwriter Cory Chisel and the Wandering Sons will open along with Minneapolis-based indie up-and-comers Communist Daughter and DJ sets from Solid Gold. CDs and limited-edition LPs will be available exclusively at this show and won’t be available to the public again until the official street date of May 29th.

Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles formed in 2007 as a result of casual jam sessions that were led by Lucy with friends Geoff Freeman (drums), Ashley Boman (accordion, bells), Jesse Schuster (bass), Eamonn Mclain (cello), and Chris Graham (guitar) at Lucy and Geoff’s University of Minnesota college flop house in Minneapolis. With each member drawing inspiration from their own wildly eclectic musical palettes, they collaboratively create all of their songs with the Velvet Lapelles orchestrating complex, lush arrangements that dovetail with Lucy’s whimsically anecdotal and emotionally evocative story telling.

The band soon started gigging around Minneapolis-Saint Paul and quickly caught the eyes, ears and hearts of local music fans and critics alike being named City Pages “Picked to Click” Best New Band of 2008. In-studio performances on nationally recognized taste-maker 89.3 The Current followed with the station calling the group, “One of the Twin Cities most talented and endearing bands.”


HEAT Track Listing

1. Just a Kid

2. West

3. Undone

4. Million Things

5. Catacombs

6. Summer Beach

7. Puget Sound

8. Wise Eyes

9. Oh Home

10. Strange Love