Todd Snider Honors His First Musical Hero On 'Time As We Know It: The Songs Of Jerry Jeff Walker,' Out April 24


Photo by Scott Preston

On April 24, Todd Snider will release ‘Time As We Know It: The Songs of Jerry Jeff Walker,’ a tribute to his original musical hero. “I’ve always hoped I’d stay around long enough to get to make a record of Jerry Jeff Walker songs,” Snider says. “He’s the guy I saw at 19 and decided to try to be like. His are the first songs I learned.” See full track list below.

Produced by Don Was (Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones), the 14 celebratory tracks feature friends and admirers like Kix Brooks of Brooks and Dunn, Elizabeth Cook, and Amy LaVere. “We just went into a studio and played about 30 of Jerry Jeff’s songs and let the performances dictate what songs would make it,” Snider says, adding, “I could’ve done 30 more.” 

The release follows Snider’s acclaimed new album ‘Agnostic Hymns & Stoner Fables’ (Aimless Records). Released this month, the album debuted in the Top 20 of four separate Billboard charts, including the Indie Label Chart, the Folk Chart, the Internet Chart, and the Independent Core Store Report. The New York Times hailed it as “among his best” and Rolling Stone called it “the sharpest musical response yet to the excesses of the one percent.”

Todd’s tour continues this spring, with shows at L.A.’s El Rey Theater on March 30 and a headlining show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on June 2. See full tour dates here:

Track Listing:
1. Vince Triple-O Martin
2. Jaded Lover
3. Moon Child
4. Takin’ It As It Comes
5. Derby Day
6. Sangria Wine
7. Continuous Saga of the Bummer Or Is This My One Way Bus Ticket to Cleveland
8. Little Bird
9. Hill Country Rain
10. Railroad Lady
11. Laying My Life on the Line
12. Pissin’ in the Wind
13. Mr. Bojangles
14. Will There Be Any

Todd Snider on the Web: