North Mississippi Allstars Set To Release First Single In New "Songs Of The South 7” Single Series"


Blues/rock trio the North Mississippi Allstars are planning to release a series of digital singles throughout 2012, which will be available for download via iTunes and the band’s official website beginning yesterday February 14th. Some of the singles in the series will feature special guest appearances and some will be accompanied by a music video. The first single in the series is the barn-burner “Rollin’ n Tumblin’,” a cover of the traditional blues classic.

The choice for the first release was a natural one for the band — “‘Rollin’ n Tumblin” is an ancient song,” says guitarist/vocalist Luther Dickinson, “When my friend Scott Baxendale handed me my first canjar (coffee can guitar) DURING a show, I plugged it in straight away and started playing ‘Rollin’ n Tumblin.'”

Drummer/vocalist Cody Dickinson was the visionary behind the accompanying video. “Conceptualizing the treatment for the ‘Rollin’ n’ Tumblin” video was one of the most artistically gratifying experiences of my life. Watching the images come alive on the screen was more exciting than I ever could have imagined,” says Cody. “My goal was to portray modern Mississippi, with all its natural beauty and culture mixed with inherent lost hope and struggle. Beauty in poverty. Contrast is art.”

There will also be a limited edition t-shirt to commemorate the release of ‘Rollin’ n Tumblin” available in the band’s online merch store.  Artwork for all the singles will have the look of an old 45 rpm record, which accounts for the title, “Songs Of The South 7″ Single Series.”