Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles Announce Release of New Full-Length LP, HEAT, to be Released In Spring 2012


Minneapolis sextet Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles are pleased to announce their newest full-length LP, HEAT, tentatively due out in April 2012. HEAT is the band’s fourth full-length release and their first since 2010’s Good of That. HEAT was recorded at Vacation Island Recording Studios in Brooklyn with acclaimed producer/engineer Matt Boynton (MGMT, Beirut, Bat for Lashes). The new record is comprised of all original material written predominantly by Lucy Michelle in Minnesota during the winter of 2010/2011. For complete track listing, please see below.

The band have made HEAT‘s opening song “Just A Kid” available as a free download on their website. Use this link to download the song for free:


HEAT continues the band’s eclectic musical style, creating a wash of organic psych-folk from a blend of interweaving ukeleles, accordion, electric guitar, upright bass, cello, drums and (of course) Lucy Michelle’s uniquely recognizable vocals. Many of the songs center around the feeling of being trapped and isolated while yearning to be somewhere else; physically or psychologically. HEAT showcases the artistic growth and sonic evolution of the band’s sound which translates into a magnificent record laced with scorching lyricism, hauntingly beautiful melodies and gorgeous harmonies that create an expansive, yet highly focused and cohesive body of work.

The band formed in 2007 as a result of casual jam sessions that were led by Lucy with friends Geoff Freeman (drums), Ashley Boman (accordion, bells) and Jesse Schuster (bass), at Lucy and Geoff’s University of Minnesota college flop house in Minneapolis. Loosely arranged social gatherings, where music was played, eventually turned into full-blown band practices and writing sessions with the additions of Eamonn Mclain (cello) and Chris Graham (guitar). With each member drawing inspiration from their own wildly eclectic musical palettes, they collaboratively create all of their songs with the Velvet Lapelles orchestrating complex, lush arrangements that dovetail with Lucy’s whimsically anecdotal and emotionally evocative story telling.

The band soon started gigging around Minneapolis-Saint Paul and quickly caught the eyes, ears and hearts of local music fans and critics alike being named City Pages “Picked to Click” Best New Band of 2008. In-studio performances on nationally recognized taste-maker 89.3 The Current followed with the station calling the group, “One of the Twin Cities most talented and endearing bands.”

Lucy Michelle And The Velvet Lapelles Current Tour Dates

Jan 27 – Ames, IA @ DG’s Taphouse
Jan 28 – Madison, WI @ The Frequency
Feb 10 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center
Feb 20 – Lutsen, MN @ Papa Charlie’s

HEAT Track Listing
1. Just a Kid
2. West
3. Undone
4. Million Things
5. Catacombs
6. Summer Beach
7. Puget Sound
8. Wise Eyes
9. Oh Home
10. Strangest Love