Diamond Rugs Reveal Album Details; New Song Available Now


Diamond Rugs is a collaboration between John McCauley (Deer Tick), Robbie Crowell (Deer Tick), Ian Saint Pé (The Black Lips), Steve Berlin (Los Lobos), Hardy Morris (Dead Confederate) and Bryan Dufresne (Six  Finger Satellite). Last fall, McCauley decided he wanted to make another record during his downtime in his new home base of Nashville with producers Adam Landry and Justin Collins (Middle Brother, Deer Tick). While attending a Los Lobos show (one of his all-time favorite bands), he made his way  backstage and met Steve Berlin. McCauley convinced Berlin to come to  Nashville to play on the record. Over the course of the next  month, he  also managed to convince Saint Pé (whom he’d met once before), Morris (who had opened for Deer Tick on tour) and his good friend from his  hometown of Providence, RI, Dufresne. McCauley also recruited Deer Tick  keys/sax player Robbie Crowell to play bass on the album.

What happened next was entirely unexpected — the musicians McCauley had recruited to play on his record, ended up contributing their own songs to the album and a fully-formed band emerged, rather than a group of musicians playing on  another artists’ record.

The Diamond Rugs long player is going to be released April 24 on Partisan Records.

The first song from the record, “Gimme A Beer,” can be heard  HERE.

The tracklisting is below:

1. Hightail
2. Gimme A Beer
3. Big God
4. Call Girl Blues
5. Out On My Own
6. Country Mile
7. Totally Lonely
8. I Took Note
9. Blue Mountains
10. Motherland
11. Tell Me Why
12. 100 Sheets
13. Hungover And Horny
14. Christmas In A Chinese Restaurant