Band of Skulls Bump Up Album Release – Exclusive To iTunes Feb 7th – Available Everywhere February 14th


January 19, 2012 – Band of Skulls will now release their highly anticipated second album Sweet Sour exclusively on iTunes on February 7th via their own label, Electric Blues Recordings under exclusive license in the U.S. to Vagrant Records. The iTunes special release of Sweet Sour will include the bonus track “Such A Fool.”

The following week, the standard version of Sweet Sour will be available everywhere on February 14th.  Sweet Sour is the follow-up to their debut album Baby Darling Doll Face Honey which was universally embraced by the U.S. media with early supporters at Entertainment Weekly naming them “Your Next Favorite Band.”

Sweet Sour most recently landed on Spin’s 25 Winter Albums You Gotta Hear! where they went on to note, “Sweet Sour is the rare modern-rock album that can span cliques or generations, uniting hippies and hipsters…” SPIN

Following the success of Baby Darling Doll Face Honey, the band retreated to a studio in Norfolk UK to begin writing Sweet Sour. They returned to their home studio in Southampton to start the recording which they completed in Wales at Rockfield Studios. Sweet Sour was produced by Ian Davenport (Supergrass, Badly Drawn Boy) and mixed by Nick Launay (Grinderman, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Arcade Fire). Please see below for the complete Sweet Sour tracklisting.

On March 13th the band returns to Austin, TX on the eve of the SXSW Music Festival with a show at Antone’s to kick off their first U.S. tour in support of Sweet Sour. The band’s live show has been a constant highlight at previous festivals by the likes of Rolling Stone (Best of SXSW) and SPIN (Best of Coachella).  The band will return to both must-see events this Spring and will surely not disappoint.  Please see below for complete tour itinerary.

In December, the band released the first U.S. single ‘Sweet Sour’ and later this month VEVO will debut the video for the track.

In the meantime, fans can click below for a first look and listen of tracks from the new album. Videos for the current UK single ‘Bruises’ as well as the video for ‘The Devil Takes Care Of His Own’ from the forthcoming album Sweet Sour.

13-Mar TUE Austin, TX Antone’s
16-Mar FRI Houston, TX Fitzgerald’s
17-Mar SAT Dallas, TX Granada Theater
19-Mar MON Atlanta, GA Variety Playhouse
20-Mar TUE Nashville, TN Cannery Ballroom
22-Mar THU New York, NY Webster Hall
23-Mar FRI Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer
24-Mar SAT Washington, DC 9:30 Club
26-Mar MON Boston, MA Paradise Rock Club
27-Mar TUE Brooklyn, NY Music Hall of Williamsburg
28-Mar WED Providence, RI The Met
30-Mar FRI Toronto, ONT Phoenix Concert Theatre
31-Mar SAT Montreal, QC Corona Theatre
2-Apr MON Detroit, MI St. Andrew’s Hall
3-Apr TUE Chicago, IL House of Blues
4-Apr WED Minneapolis, MN Fine Line
6-Apr FRI Denver, CO Ogden Theatre
7-Apr SAT Salt Lake City, UT The Complex (Grand Room)
9-Apr MON Seattle, WA Neptune
10-Apr TUE Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom
11-Apr WED Portland, OR Dante’s
12-Apr THU San Francisco, CA The Fillmore
15-Apr SUN Coachella
22-Apr SUN Coachella

* We Are Augustines Support All Dates except Coachella

Sweet Sour Tracklisting
1. Sweet Sour
2. Bruises
3. Wanderluster
4. Devil Takes Care Of His Own
5. Lay My Head Down
6. You Aren’t Pretty But You Got It Going On
7. Navigate
8. Hometowns
9. Lies
10. Close To Nowhere

*The special iTunes release will include the bonus track “Such A Fool”