Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood's MSMW Live: In Case The World Changes It's Mind


(New York, NY) – On November 8, 2011, Indirecto Records releases MSMW LIVE: In Case the World Changes Its Mind, a double-live album featuring guitar guru John Scofield and genrebusting improvisational jazz trio Medeski Martin & Wood. Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood first recorded together on Scofield’s A GO GO (Verve 1998), a project that united the group on material composed by Scofield and interpreted by all four musicians.

In 2006, MSMW collaborated again on OUT LOUDER (Indirecto Records), a jam-packed release full of irresistible grooves and spontaneous improvisation. OUT LOUDER was a genuine four-way collaboration between Medeski Scofield Martin & Wood. “A GO GO was John’s record and we were essentially sidemen, where OUT LOUDER musically comes from all of us,” explains Wood. Scofield adds that much of the material was composed when the foursome “would play free stuff, listen back, make a song out of it, and then go back with that idea in mind and play free again.”

OUT LOUDER exhibits a raw and edgy sound that is embedded in the foundations of jazz, funk and blues. NPR raved, “Medeski Scofield Martin and Wood have crafted one of the year’s finer (and most fun) jazz records.” The Seattle Times stated, “OUT LOUDER is a winner…irresistibly funky.”  All About Jazz found it “Funky, infectious, brash and sometimes downright beautiful, OUT LOUDER is a brilliant culmination of these four artists’ talents.”

MSMW LIVE: In Case the World Changes Its Mind is a live collection of twelve tracks culled from their 2006 MSMW tour and features music from Scofield’s A GO GO and MSMW’s OUT LOUDER.

Disc 1:

1. A Go Go

2. Deadzy

3. What Now

4. Tootie Ma Is a Big Fine Thing

5. Cachaca

6. In Case the World Changes It’s Mind

7. Miles Behind


Disc 2:

1. Little Walter Rides Again

2. Hanuman

3. Amazing Grace

4. Southern Pacific

5. Hottentot