Peter Gabriel To Release NEW BLOOD Album October 11th


New York, NY On the heels of a limited sold-out U.S. summer tour that earned Peter Gabriel some of the best reviews of his career, he will release a full-length CD New Blood on October 11, 2011 distributed by EMI.  A continuum to his recent Scratch My Back release, the New Blood album will feature some of Gabriel’s biggest hits from his prodigious career, reconstructed and re-imagined with orchestral arrangements and recorded live with the New Blood Orchestra.  Gabriel hand-selected the songs and enlisted the help of longtime collaborator John Metcalfe for the arrangements and Ben Foster as conductor of the 46-piece New Blood Orchestra.

This treatment is applied with painstaking attention to detail and stunning effect on songs such as ‘Mercy Street’, ‘Digging In The Dirt’, ‘Don’t Give Up’, ‘San Jacinto’ and Gabriel’s all-time classic ‘Solsbury Hill’.   The intention was not to simply rework Gabriel’s biggest songs, but rather, find songs that were enhanced by the massed strings, brass, woodwind and percussion.  Don’t Give Up – now with Norwegian singer Ane Brun’s vulnerable, cracking vocals replacing those of Kate Bush – rides a stirring, uplifting coda. Where the twinkle of San Jacinto was originally supplied by loops from a Fairlight sampler, piano and bows now provide the otherworldly magic. But probably the most extraordinary reinterpretation is that of Rhythm Of The Heat where Metcalf has recast the original’s extended African drum jam into a dizzying, swirling orchestral maelstrom.

And in front of orchestra, taking centre stage when necessary, retreating into the shadows when not, is Peter’s rich voice. Retaining its trademark emotive power, it returns to lyrics written 20 or 30 years ago, reinvesting them with new meaning and heightened poignancy.

“The orchestra provides different dimensions to the music that weren’t there initially,” confirms Peter. “Rock artists work slowly in studios, building up layer by layer, and one of the great, powerful advantages of an orchestra is all these musicians playing at one moment with all sorts of colors and personalities.”

The album will be available as a standard single-disc and digital download.  A special 2-CD version will include the standard album plus an added disc of instrument versions.  There will additionally be a heavyweight vinyl version available November 8th that is released with a bonus 7” featuring “A Quiet Moment” and “Solsbury Hill.   The filmed concert New Blood – Live in London, recorded October 23rd, 2010 at the Hammersmith Apollo will be available in 3D, blu-ray and standard DVD on October 25th.



1.       Rhythm of the Heat

2.       Downside Up (featuring Melanie Gabriel)

3.       San Jacinto

4.       Intruder

5.       Wallflower

6.       In Your Eyes

7.       Mercy Street

8.       Red Rain

9.       Darkness

10.     Don’t Give Up (featuring Ane Brun)

11.     Digging in the Dirt

12.     The Nest That Sailed the Sky

13.     A Quiet Moment

14.     Solsbury Hill (bonus track)


Special 2CD Edition – includes instrumental disc plus bonus track Blood of Eden

1.        The Rhythm of the Heat (instrumental)

2.        Downside Up (instrumental)

3.        San Jacinto (instrumental)

4.        Intruder (instrumental)

5.        Wallflower (instrumental)

6.        In Your Eyes (instrumental)

7.        Mercy Street (instrumental)

8.        Red Rain (instrumental)

9.        Darkness (instrumental)

10.      Don’t Give Up (instrumental)

11.       Digging In The Dirt (instrumental)

12.       The Nest That Sailed The Sky (instrumental)

13.       Blood of Eden (studio track)