Frank Zappa Gets Hip-Hop Treatment on new iTunes Release

frank zappa
Frank Zappa

To commemorate Frank Zappa’s recent 70th birthday celebration, Zappa Records released a birthday bundle on December 21 titled ‘Anything Anytime Anywhere For No Reason At All, Again Also.’ This year, hip-hop artists DMC, Talib Kweli and Mix Master Mike lent their extraordinary talents on a fresh new version of Zappa’s “Willie The Pimp.” The original version of the song was released in 1969 on ‘Hot Rats’ and featured Captain Beefheart on vocals.

Joining DMC and Talib Kweli on vocal is Ahmet Zappa and the killer scratches come courtesy of MMM. Produced by Jared Lee Gosselin for Monsterfoot Music, the track is one of twelve featured on ‘aaafnraaaa’ and only available via the iTunes Store:

Other songs on the bundle include the previously unreleased “City Of Tiny Lites” live from Frank Zappa’s London’s Hammersmith Odeon 1978 concerts; Ahmet Zappa’s “Bobby Brown Goes Down”; “Treacherous Cretins” by Frank Zappa; “The Deathless Horsie,” which earned Dweezil Zappa a GRAMMY nomination; and a new recording of Zappa’s “Your Mouth” by Macy Gray.

Go here for the full track listing: