The Skiffle Players Announce ‘Skiff’ / Share New Song “Local Boy”


Hear & Share First Single “LOCAL BOY”

The Skiffle Players—also known as Neal Casal, Dan Horne, Cass McCombs, Farmer Dave Scher and Aaron Sperske—have announced that their new studio album ‘Skiff’ will be released October 12 on Spiritual Pajamas. The 13-song collection signals a new direction for the band. Whereas their debut LP, ‘Skifflin,’ and its companion release, ‘Piffle Sayers EP,’ focused primarily on traditional songs, this time around they all sing and write. It further brings into focus that this is a band where there is NO LEADER, but a collective effort where the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

“This record takes things up a notch for The Skiffle Players, expanding upon the topography of our first record, while using the ‘Piffle Sayers EP’ as a stepping stone to leap to new heights, song styles, thematic content and writers,” says Farmer Dave. “Neal Casal and myself contribute songs to the group for the first time, and Cass is back with some amazing new tunes. It’s a float down the river of song—an attitude, a way of life, an offering.”

Recorded at Infinitespin Recorders in Van Nuys CA, with engineer Matt “Linny” Linesch, ‘Skiff’ begins with a bold opening; the Farmer Dave penned “Cara,” delivers heavy information for the soul. Then, into classic Cass insanity on the LP’s first single “Local Boy,” which alludes to a wild ride on the run from the cops (listen/share). Third is a touching tribute to a bygone companion, “Miss It When It’s Gone,” written and led by Neal. ‘Skiff’s revolving perspective continues to bounce around, leaving no apparent land to stand upon. In that, it is deeply subversive. For there is nothing to defend, but the ability to transform and imagine.

Next, it’s back to Cass with a satire on justice, “The Law Offices of Dewey, Cheatum and Howe.” The album continues to unfold from the saloon “Long Horns, Long Necks, Long Legs” to the rainforest “Herbamera.” Neal blasts in again taking lead vocals on the Cass-penned sun-bleached rambler, “Los Angeles Alleyway.” Farmer Dave’s “Skiffleman” “sings a song for everyone.” Cass plays with memory in a song about coming of age in the Bay Area entitled “Oakland Scottish Rite Temple Waltz.” Penultimately, “Santa Fe” offers an elliptical broadside about materialism and waste. ‘Skiff’ concludes by pushing off again, out into the familiar waters of a traditional skiffle number, “Sweet Georgia Brown,” each member taking a perhaps all-too casual solo.

This is acoustic dance music at its finest. It is also refreshingly contradictory. Irreverent and mystical. Deeply personal and communal. Traditional and profane. This is the ever-revolving and disintegrating ship known as ‘Skiff.’

‘Skiff’ is available for pre-order here on LP, CD and Digital formats.

Track Listing:

1. “Cara”
2. “Local Boy”
3. “You’ll Miss It When It’s Gone”
4. “The Law Offices Of Dewey, Cheatum & Howe”
5. “Wham!”
6. “Long Horns, Long Necks, Long Legs”
7. “Herbamera”
8. “Los Angeles Alleyway”
9. “Skiffleman”
10. “Harsh Toke”
11. “Oakland Scottish Rite Temple Waltz”
12. “Santa Fe”
13. “Sweet Georgia Brown”

Out October 12 via Spiritual Pajamas